Moravské Budějovice Region
Moravské Budějovice, with its 7.5 thousand inhabitants, extends into the picturesque, slightly rolling landscape of Southwest Moravia, on the edge of the Bohemian-Moravian Highlands, with the river Rokytná running through the town. The town lies on the state (former imperial) road connecting Vienna and Prague.
Historically, the first written report dates from 1231. Moravské Budějovice was promoted to the town apparently during the reign of Přemysl Otakar II. In 1498, King Wladyslaw Jagiello confirmed the town´s privileges so far and gave the town am emblem and a seal. In Moravske Budejovice, many owners changed in line, including the Lichtenburgs, Wallensteins, Schaumburks and Wallis. The monuments here include the late 18th century Baroque-Classicist chateau, the church of St. Giles from the first half of the 13th century, the chapel of St. Michael and the chateau stables, meat shops with the expositions of long ago extinct crafts, a parish with a fortification wall and a bastion, partly preserved fortifications of the town, under which is a paragneiss wrinkle, a rare geological formation. A number of burgher houses have been preserved in the historical centre of the city. Moravské Budějovice is a place of recreation and sporting activities used by visitors from the whole region, the local aqatic centre offers three swimming pools and all sorts of sports equipment. There is also an indoor ice-hockey hall, a tennis court, a football pitch, bowling centre, etc. Tourist Attractions: Baroque-Classicist chateau with the expositions of the Vysočina Museum Třebíč, the church of St. Giles, Meat Shops, Official website: www.mbudejovice.cz